Ριζά - ΡιζάRizà (translated into ‘roots’, ‘foothills’) consists of nine old traditional songs from Greece (mainly from the islands), all re-arranged with a contemporary approach and tuned in an acoustic mood, that reflects a range of musical references: from the albums of ECM Records and Mediterranean jazz to the aesthetics of field recordings and DJ Shadow. All tunes are sung in original language, no adaptations, no derivations from the original ones. There are neither any Greek traditional instruments involved nor any other eastern strings that would produce a distinctive Mediterranean sound; a rather western approach to the far eastern music of Greece.

Rizà are: Themistoklis Karpodinis (voice), Costinho (piano) & Petros Lamprides (double-bass).